New Rocks in use at the Ice House

Curling in Victoria took another huge step forward with the introduction of our new rocks at the Ice House in Melbourne. To celebrate this occasion a bonspiel was held with 70 curlers taking part.

The curlers were led onto the ice courtesy of pipers from Scotch College and then the ceremonial first rock was thrown by the team of

George McDonald (our eldest curler representing curling's homeland - Scotland)
Britt-Marie Malmberg (representing Europe)
Dean Hewitt ( our youngest member representing The Pacific region)
Ellen Weir ( our founding member representing North America)

A great night was had by all with the overall winners being the team of Gerald Chick, Vaughan Rosier, Paul Meissner, Michael Kottek.
Special mention must go to the team of Michelle Sarkissian, Andrew Harris, Ari Cohen, and Rhiannon LaPorte who went from the bottom of the ladder in the Round Robin to 2nd place in the Bonspiel. A Fantastic effort. Congratulations!

Share this page